Things We Wish We Knew (encouragement/tips for Freshmen or the new girl in town)

Hi friends! I, Lanissa, am SOOO excited for this month’s Blog Post. Today I have 3 inspiring and loving young women (& friends whom I adore) guest blogging & sharing their tips, struggles and encouragement for being an upcoming Freshman. Whether it’s in High School or College, or even if you are simply moving to a new area or a new season of life- the season of finding your place and people to do life with can be HARD! I know the truths below will encourage you. God has not left you & He has something beautiful He wants to do in you in your new season. Be encouraged friends!

FRESHMENblogPOST.jpg-1

What advice would you give for finding a community to do life with & pursuing new friendships? Especially if you’re shy or new to an area!

Something that I really wish that I did- create a Bible Study within your school! It doesn’t have to be fancy, just get a group of girls together, and start up a study group once or twice a week, reading and studying the Word of God and encouraging each other to put your faith in Christ. Christian friendships are THE BEST!!
Chloe, Founder of the Sweetness With Christ Blog

 

So, your first year, join as many organizations on campus as you can and find a church nearby. You can figure out your second year which organizations you want to stick with and which ones you want to part ways with, but in the beginning, step out of your comfort zone and embrace the fact that everyone is in the same boat as you: far from home, new, excited and slightly terrified. That alone is your conversation starter. But really, even a friendly smile can be the beginning of a life long friendship.
– Yelena, founder of Tirzah Mag

 

Well to be honest when I left for my freshmen year of College, almost 2 hours from home, it was extremely difficult. I did go with my best friend, but I never found a community to do life with the short three months I was there. I crave Godly friends and truthfully finding a community of ladies to do life with, can be hard for me. My advice though would be to never give up, never let your comfort zone get in the way, but to let your true light shine and put yourself out there. God is faithful!

 

Looking back, what is something you would tell your Freshman self?

 

Always stand up for Jesus and don’t become so enticed with what the crowd is doing. Always seek God’s ways and guidance throughout your school years, and He will never steer you wrong :).
Chloe, Founder of the Sweetness With Christ Blog
Make a list of what matters to you most. Put that list somewhere where you can see it often to remind yourself, that is what truly matters at the end of the day. Make time for these things regularly. I love this quote by Iain Thomas: “And every day, the world will drag you by the hand, yelling, ‘This is important! And this is important! You need to worry about this! And this! And this!’ And each day, it’s up to you to yank your hand back, put it on your heart and say, ‘No. This is what’s important.'”
Yelena, Founder of Tirzah Mag

 

What I would tell my freshmen self: Have joy in all seasons. Do NOT let stress or fear get in the way of your calling or your life. Don’t let your comfort zone hold you back. Jesus defines who you are. I would tell myself to not be afraid of Satan because he isn’t my authority, that Jesus is.

 

With such a big transition, what tips and encouragement do you have for making the most of Freshman year?

 

Choose your friendships wisely from day one. One true friend is better than a thousand false friends, and if you take your stand from the beginning, your freshman year will be very worthwhile. Also, another tip that I would give would be to study hard and always make time for your school work and activities. By putting in the effort at the beginning, it will make it that much easier down the road.
Chloe, Founder of the Sweetness With Christ Blog

 

Take a class in as many different fields as you can. You never know when you’ll stumble across something you’ll love that could grow into a major or even a career. And even the most random class (I went to a liberal arts school, so I took some quite interesting electives!), will make you a more rounded and intelligent person. You never know – someday you may be standing at a networking event and that one random fact you learned in that one weird class is the thing that impresses someone and lands you a dream job. Stand true to who you are, but always keep learning.
– Yelena, Founder of Tirzah Mag

 

Big transitions can be scary and stressful, but the one thing that is always steadfast is the Lord. So if you do anything, friend, stay in the word & try to find a church home. Also, try to find a routine for your school work, work life, and social life to make the most out of your freshmen year. & don’t do it alone. Pray for friends who will be for you!!

 

What were you not expecting about College/High School or what did you struggle with the most that you can speak some encouragement over now?

 

One of the things that I struggled the most with in High School was taking care of my Type 1 Diabetes. I got very little support from teachers and friends, which made it difficult for me to control my school work and my illness. My encouragement to you is, if you are struggling with any personal issue/s, speak to a teacher and push until you get the support and guidance that you need!
Chloe, Founder of the Sweetness With Christ Blog

 

I didn’t realize how much my faith would be shaken in a world running so quickly away from God. When you find yourself on your own with so much freedom and fun around you, it’s tempting to experiment and stretch your wings. It all seems shiny and easy, but weeks go by and you don’t read your Bible and stop going to church, and suddenly the lines you vowed to never cross all of a sudden blur. Don’t allow yourself to get to that point. Stay connected. Open your Bible daily – even if it’s to read two verses on the Bible app. Find a church or Christian group on campus. Seek God first, always, but especially in your youth (read Ecclesiastes 12!). Everything else is secondary.
– Yelena, Founder of Tirzah Mag

 

I wasn’t expecting to struggle with feeling lonely. I’m such a family oriented person and love having friendships, so I missed my family, boyfriend, and friends a lot. I never found a community to do life with. Most days looked like going to school, doing homework, watching tv, and just hanging out at my apartment. It can be really easy to get comfortable and become isolated. TRUST ME, I’ve been there. But you aren’t the only one feeling alone or nervous.  I recommend being intentional in making friends that you actually enjoy being around and fill you up and getting involved in things outside of your dorm/apartment.
CHLOEinsta.jpg

; 20something from Northern Ireland, book worm, tea lover and blogger

MAKAELAinsta.jpg

; aspiring interior designer, sassy, lover of coffee & fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

YOLENAinsta.jpg-1

; lover of reading & traveling, international tax attorney, trusting God w/ her dreams

Feel free to share this blog post & comment below with any advice or tips you would give to those entering their Freshman year! Let’s encourage each other! <3 

2 thoughts on “Things We Wish We Knew (encouragement/tips for Freshmen or the new girl in town)

Leave a comment