How To Overcome Comparison When Your Life Seems “not so summer ready” (summer series wk2)

Hello friends! Welcome to Week 2 of our Summer Self-Confidence Series! Makaela Hall here, newest addition to the Becoming Leadership Team, and I am so excited that you’re joining us for another week (week 1 on loving your body HERE) of summer outfit tips, weekly challenges & bible application tips. I pray that this series has already done a work in your life and that you are beginning to love your body a bit more this Summer!

Today, I’m getting really transparent about something that all of us teen-20something ladies struggle with. (sheesh, one paragraph in & I’m spilling my beans. Its safe to say we can be friends now). Are you ready for it?  Comparison – woohoo, YAY…  totally kidding! We all know, comparison is never yay. Never woohoo. Friends, lean in and let me be honest with you, comparison is the thief of our joy.

IMG_8922

Personally I’m faced with it at least everyday, but something about it being Summer that it becomes even more of a struggle. RIGHT?! Apart from living on an Island & being surrounded by people who seem care free, absolutely summer body ready etc. etc…. I think it’s also, definitely, this thing called Social Media. I don’t know about you, but the people that I follow on Instagram and Snapchat seem to be doing the coolest things especially when it becomes Summer break!

Instagram is the avenue that gets the best of me, because I see everyone having all this “fun”. So I get in this rut of thinking I am the most boring person since all I do is work, go to school, and mainly find myself at home working on the loads of work that has to be done for school. And Pinterest?! Don’t get me started. I go on there with hopes to be inspired, and BOOM I’m sneakily bombarded by all these clothes, accessories, girls whose bodies are killer and before I know it comparison has crept in.

Sometimes it’s just so hard to not compare yourself to other girl’s wardrobes, the places they are traveling to, the fun times they’re having with their friends, their rocking bodies, or their overall life.(I KNOW I’m not the only one here, can I get an amen?!)

 

Comparison. It’s real, it’s fighting for our hearts and I know you feel it too friend. But ask God about it? And you’ll see it’s never, ever, what He intended for your heart. We are all unique. We are all in different seasons of our life. We all have struggles & strengths & weaknesses.But we are EACH made by the same good, loving God. Our differences? They are beautiful and on purpose.

I’m so guilty of forgetting this & have to try my hardest to remember that. But when I do, it changes everything. I receive a peace in knowing that no one is perfect, and that because of who made me- I am GOOD enough!

At the end of the day what matters most and what you need to put in your mind is that you are fearfully and wonderfully made just like Psalm 139:14 says.

The truth is this, we shouldn’t be comparing ourselves to one another, we should be loving where God has us and what he has given each of us.

 

Here are 2 quotes that I love:

“Your story is unique and so so different and NOT worthy of comparison.”

“Don’t waste one more minute comparing yourself to other people. This journey is yours alone. God needs you to fulfill your purpose … not to try to fulfill someone else’s.”

 

You have so much to offer that the Lord has given you, that He may not let someone else have. So stop getting in the rut of comparing yourself and get in the process of loving yourself. Stand firm against the enemy and decide that comparison will no longer be the thief of your JOY. You have everything you need to experience this confidence in your own skin, your own life, your own personality. You have the power of the Holy Spirit living inside of you.

We want to help you apply these truths and live them out, SO below I have some Scriptures that have so much truth on not comparing yourself & how you can apply them to your life.

 

[Scriptures on Not Comparing Yourself & How to Apply Them]

 

  1. [Scripture] Proverbs 3:15She is more precious than jewels; nothing you desire compares with her.”

[How to Apply]- You will have to believe in your heart that you are so so precious in God’s eyes and that’s all that matters. My favorite part in that verse is “nothing you desire compares with her.” How amazing is that? That everything we desire and want to have that that other girl has, God says it doesn’t compare with us. I don’t know about you, but that right there makes me light up and brings so much Joy to my life. I recommend you remember this verse, when you feel yourself comparing yourself to another girl-repeat this to yourself and remember that God’s word is true and has such an influence on the way we live our life.

 

  1. [Scripture] 1 Corinthians 11:1 “Imitate me, as I also imitate Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:17 “So the one who boasts must boast in the Lord.”

[How to Apply]- I saw this sentence on a website while looking up these verses and it hit home with me. It said, “Instead of comparing yourself to others, compare yourself to Christ instead so you can be more like Him.” That’s something we should do everyday when we wake up and even throughout our day. Pray for your mind to be of Christ and not of this world friend.

If you apply these three Scriptures to your life, then the Lord will start to make a change in it and you will begin to believe you’re unique for yourself.

Just a little reminder quote to leave with you,

Admire others’ beauty without questioning your own

You are beautiful and NO ONE COMPARES to YOU. Start to believe that friend.



 

One of the fun and powerful things we think helps us to stop comparison, is by wearing outfits that not only make us feel beautiful and confident but also honor our bodies! You are worth honoring your body, & you start to do so- when you honor the fact that you are a temple of the Lord you will start to feel confident in who you really are. Below are 2 of our fav cute & modest summer outfits!

Grey Dress; White Chucks        |       White Shirt; Pink Comfy Pants

Modesty Tip- Before you wear a pair of shorts- make sure they are long enough so that the natural pockets couldn’t hang below and be seen on the bottom. Not cute!

 

[Weekly Challenge]

 We’ve struggled with comparison on many areas in our life, share below what the scriptures mentioned above encourage you in light of how compare yourself in the blog comments below (let’s chat!). NOW, every single time you catch yourself comparing yourself this week STOP  & then speak one of those scriptures over yourself out loud. Do this every single time & see the difference in your confidence arise.

 



 

Don’t miss the final part to this Series > Making The Most of Your Summer: Because You ARE “summer ready”

Xoxo,

 

Makaela Hall

@makaaayyyy

4 thoughts on “How To Overcome Comparison When Your Life Seems “not so summer ready” (summer series wk2)

    • lanissareale says:

      Haley, we’re so glad it encouraged you!!! Thank you for leaving a comment and connecting! We pray that this summer you grow to love and be more confident in who God created you to be!

Leave a Reply

