The Community Series- Savannah’s Story: Becoming a Woman Who Trades Her Worry for Confidence

Hello sweet friends! We are on our FINAL week of our Community Guest-Blogger series, and can I just say that I have loved this?!?

Becoming Ministries is about you understanding that you are not alone in this young women stage of life- there is a community of girls out there JUST LIKE YOU who are on the journey of Becoming the woman God created them to be. For our final week of this series, I am thrilled to introduce my sweet friend Savannah Johnson. She is a 19 year old College Student, worship leader and amazing young woman of God. I know what she has to say is a word from God for us today. See her story below.

savannah

 

 

Hello Becoming tribe! My name is Savannah Johnson. Let me be honest- this is the first time I have ever blogged (yeah!) and so it is safe to say that there is a lot of worry running through my mind right about now. When God calls us to do something, whatever it may look like in your young woman stage of life… something tends to happen. Maybe you’re familiar with it?

 

Worry.

 

I struggle with worry. And I believe that I’m not alone.

 

Some may say, “You are too young to worry.” As a nineteen year old, I couldn’t disagree more. I am a planner and when I can’t plan what’s going to happen next, I freak out. I like to plan out my days, plan trips, plan what’s going to happen when people come over, etc. I like to be in control!

 

But there are some things in life we can plan for and some we simply cannot. This is something we have to come to grips with. Some things that are easy to worry about at our age as teen-20somethings are school and careers. Right now I am in the waiting process with school. I applied for a program last year and didn’t get in. In fact, I got a rejection letter in the mail. HARSH.

This year I am not only reapplying to that program but now I am applying for another one as well. That way I will have a back up plan. See any planning going on there?? We like to be in control, it’s in our flesh’s nature. And when we are thrown into season that are a bit out of our control- worry seems to be inevitable.

savannah image 1

 

And as a teen-20something girl, being stuck in waiting seasons is no fun. Have you ever been in this place? You may be in that place right now. You have no idea why your plans didn’t follow through. You thought the situation would go one way but turned out to be totally different. Maybe it’s waiting on a job, baby, marriage, finances, etc. There are so many things that I could name that might trigger worry in your mind.

 

 

I have to constantly remind myself that the only way to get rid of this worry is giving it to The Lord. Are you trying to do it on your own? I know I have tried. I thought I could do it on my own- rock life, be independent, feel fulfilled, succeed. But I realized soon after trying that it was impossible.

Sweet friends, worry was not meant to overtake us. We must lay it down at God’s feet and allow Him to do what only He can do. He is good and can do anything and everything for us. God’s timetable is not always our timetable. He specializes in things thought impossible. But every time I have found that the plan He had for me turned out to be way better than my own, and way above my expectations.

 

Proverbs 16:9- “In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.”




 

 

 

            I don’t know about you, but I want to become a woman who doesn’t complain when things go wrong, but instead rejoices in all that I have. I want to become a woman who gets back up after being knocked down. I want to become a woman who sees blessings in mistakes. I want to become a woman who takes her problems straight to The Lord. I want to become a woman who has no worries because she has full confidence in The Lord.



 

 

 This is deep and extremely difficult to share. As leaders in a church we get held up at such a high standard. It is important for people to know that we are human and fail just as much as others. I would love to say I could do this on my own, but I can’t. With his guidance and your support, I hope to become a restored woman of God.

 

Now we can say these types of things all day long. We can sit and dream about the woman God created us to be, or we can actually start to BECOME her. Our actions will always speak louder than our words.savannah and tyee

 

You were not made for worry, and neither was I. We were made for more. And we can’t do this journey of life alone! I can’t tell you how many times I have been so worried about things and my friends/family have been there to fill my thoughts with hope. It is important to be open with others and to listen to others as well.

 

 That is why I love this ministry. We are able to connect with other teen-20something women in a more intentional way. Comment and/or talk to people on this blog through blog comments. Let someone else know that they are not alone. Encourage and walk with each other on this journey. “God never said life would be easy, but He said it would be worth it.” JOIN ME in this growing community by simple subscribing by email HERE (& you’ll even get a FREE devotional written by Lanissa Reale)

 

 

 

Jeremiah 29:11- “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

LETS CHAT BELOW:

What is it that you struggle with? And so you ever feel like you are alone? Google some scriptures that relate to your “worry” and tell us about them in the blog comments below!

Love,

Savannah Johnsonsavannah head shot

@savyjayyy

2 thoughts on “The Community Series- Savannah’s Story: Becoming a Woman Who Trades Her Worry for Confidence

  1. Dawn Drapeylo says:

    Not in this age group but love, love, love to follow these blogs. I become so encouraged. So proud having watched you grow over the years having matured into the beautiful, Godly woman you are Savannah! Your mom must be so proud!
    Love my Holli Crawford too, our friendship and what God is doing in the lives of her and those beautiful lil girls.
    Thank You! Lanissa Reale.. I have followed your series since prob last Nov. and enjoy watching yout videos and hearing the things God puts on your heart. You are so inspiring and it has been super amazing to see ur sweet love story come together. Such a beautiful bride! Could not be happier for you!
    Would love to get to know you and have lunch one day:)
    Congratulations! Wishing you both a beautiful, God filled lifetime of happiness.!

    • lanissareale says:

      Dawn, you are so sweet!! You are welcome ANYTIME to this Blog, of course!!!! Thank you for your comment- we love them. I have loved seeing these girls flourish and grow as well. Gods got us, if we will let him! Would love to connect with you in person as well! Shoot me a message on Instagram or Facebook! Muah!

Leave a Reply

